Understanding Uninsured And Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Delaware drivers should know that the law requires them to have auto insurance. Driving without insurance can lead to heavy fines and a suspended license. Yet some people still choose to drive without insurance. Others drive with the bare minimum of coverage.
So, what happens if a driver hits you and does not have adequate insurance?
The attorneys at Pratcher Krayer LLC are here to answer your questions about auto insurance, motor vehicle accident claims and the best way to recover compensation for your injuries. Our award-winning trial lawyers have over 25 years of combined legal experience, and they know how to help you get the compensation you deserve.
What Is Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
Although the law requires Delaware drivers to carry car insurance, some drivers do not. If you end up in an accident with an uninsured driver, you may not have much success in recovering the money you need from that driver.
To prevent this from happening you can add uninsured motorist coverage to your own auto insurance. With uninsured coverage, you would work with your own insurance carrier to compensate you for property damage, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
What Is Underinsured Motorist Coverage?
Currently, in Delaware, the law only requires drivers to carry the following:
- $10,000 in property damage liability coverage
- $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
- $15,000 per person/$30,000 personal injury protection per accident
Delaware law does not require uninsured motorist coverage, and drivers can reject this coverage in writing. Unfortunately, in many cases, damages and injuries can cost an accident victim far more than the amounts above. Similar to uninsured motorist coverage, underinsured motorist coverage helps close the gap.
Why Do Some People Purchase Uninsured And Underinsured Coverage?
Although Delaware law does not technically require uninsured and underinsured coverage, many people find it comforting to know they are likely covered in case of an accident, no matter what kind of insurance the other driver has.
Bring Your Questions To Us
If you have further questions about uninsured or underinsured motorist claims, call our Wilmington office at 302-566-1796 or send an email to schedule a free initial consultation.