Delaware law requires all registered vehicles to have liability insurance coverage of $25,000/$50,000/$10,000. They must also have $15,000/$30,000 personal injury protection.
Despite these requirements, the Insurance Information Institute reported that in 2019, 8.5% of all drivers lacked insurance coverage in the state.
Uninsured drivers across the country
Delaware is not the worst state when it comes to uninsured drivers. As of 2021, Mississippi had the worst percentage at 29.4%. But this is a trend that is nationwide. About 28 million people across the U.S. were driving without proper coverage in 2021.
The problem with uninsured drivers
Uninsured drivers can make the aftermath of an accident much more complicated. If both drivers involved in a collision lack insurance, it can turn into a messy situation with no one to cover the expenses. They might try to get away without paying for the damages, which can lead to legal battles and financial troubles for everyone involved.
Why people fail to secure insurance
One of the biggest reasons why people choose not to secure insurance is to save money. While this may seem to save costs immediately, it can be very costly in the long run. If uninsured individuals have an accident or the state discovers they are without coverage, they could face fines, lose their driver’s license or even have their car taken away. Plus, if they cause an accident, they could get sued and end up paying a lot of money to other people involved in the accident.
Car insurance is like a safety net that helps protect you and others on the road in case of accidents. Unfortunately, not everyone follows this rule, and that can lead to serious problems for everyone involved.