The temptation to check your phone while driving is very real. The traffic isn’t too bad, there aren’t any cops around, and you know that you’re a pretty good driver. What’s the worst that could happen?
Delaware drivers should know the answer is potentially fatal. Using your cell phone while driving is incredibly risky.
The number of accidents keeps going up
Statistics show that from 2013 to 2017, the number of crashes caused by a distracted driver almost doubled in just our state. There were 224 accidents involving cell phones just in 2017.
Experts say that the increase is mostly due to the rise in dependence on cell phones. In 2013, smart phones were just starting to become popular. But now the modern world practically requires you to have one.
Younger people are more at risk
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reported that in 2015 over 3,000 people died in distraction-related accidents, constituting 10% of all highway deaths. Drivers who are in their 20s are much more distracted, however. Distractions cause 27% of fatal accidents on the highway for this age group.
Delaware police are cracking down
The increase in phone-related accidents has continued even though Delaware banned all cell phone use except hands-free technology back in 2011. Delaware drivers are still using their phones behind the wheel—although it is illegal.
A police officer can pull you over if they see you holding your phone for any reason. Your first fine would be $100—increasing to at least $200 if it happens again.
You shouldn’t put your phone down just because you might get a ticket, however. By saving that text or tweet for later, you could also be saving your life.